Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Glasgow Hawks RFC app


Four Hawks face IRELAND

By Hugh Barrow

Four Hawks in Squad for Donnybrook

Head Coach Stevie Scott has named the Scotland U20 team to face Ireland at Donnybrook in the U20 Six Nations this Friday (9 March, kick-off 7.15pm).

The squad selection includes just two changes to the side who secured a famous victory over England at Myreside a fortnight ago.

Back-row Guy Graham and centre Callum McLelland drop out of the starting XV due to injury, to be replaced by Rory Darge and Northampton Saint’s Fraser Strachan, who are both promoted from the bench.

Stewart’s Melville College product Connor Boyle is named amongst the replacements, as is Mark New – who returns to the matchday 23 after starting in the opening fixture against Wales.

Head Coach Stevie Scott, said: “The boys will have taken a lot from the England win. It was a big result for us and one that the squad will remember for a long time.

“Ireland is another tough fixture. We’re on the road which always adds another challenge, but they certainly won’t take us lightly.

The squad have trained hard this week and it’s a game we’re looking forward to. It's important that we get back out there and put in another strong performance.

An unchanged back-three sees fullback Paddy Dewhirst once again partnered by Glasgow Hawks’ wing duo Rory McMichael and Kyle Rowe.

In the centre, vice-captain Stafford McDowall is joined by Fraser Strachan, who makes his first start of the tournament. Ross Thompson and Gloucester academy’s Charlie Chapman continue at half-back.

An unaltered tight-five sees captain Robbie Smith pack down alongside the impressive Edinburgh Accies pair Shaun Gunn and Finlay Richardson in the front-row, with Ewan Johnson and Watsonians’ Jamie Hodgson once again named as locks.

In the back-row, Melrose’s Rory Darge makes his first start of the campaign and is named at openside flanker alongside Martin Hughes and number eight Devante Onojaife.

Scotland U20 team to face Ireland U20 at Donnybrook in the U20 Six Nations this Friday 9 March (kick-off 7.15pm)

15. Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*

14. Rory McMichael (Glasgow Hawks)

13. Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints)

12. Stafford McDowall (Ayr)** VICE CAPTAIN

11. Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)

10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

9. Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)

1. Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies)*

2. Robbie Smith (Ayr)** CAPTAIN

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

5. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonains)*

6. Martin Hughes (Heriots)*

7. Rory Darge (Melrose)*

8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)

Replacements: 16. Bradley Clements (Ealing); 17. Nathan McBeth (Lions); 18. Murphy Walker (Dundee HSFP)*; 19. Marshall Sykes (St Joseph's College / Northampton Saints); 20. Connor Boyle (Stewart's Melville College)* 21. Kaleem Barreto (Marr)**; 22. Mark New (Glasgow Hawks); 23. Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

Updated 15:17 - 7 Mar 2018 by Hugh Barrow

Where next?

Hawks 2s in action Tomorrow at Old ANNIESLAND
George Horne gets Scotland call George joins brother Peter

Sat 3 Aug
HAWKS Cartha
Friendly 15:00
Sat 10 Aug
Friendly 15:00

News sponsors

Club sponsors