Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Glasgow Hawks RFC app


Matt and George get Scotland call

8 months ago By Hugh Barrow

Two more Hawks in line to be called

“Matt Fagerson gets Scotland call”

Scotland Head Coach Gregor Townsend has selected 15 Glasgow Warriors players in his 33-man Scotland squad for this summer’s tour to Canada, USA and Argentina.

The squad includes uncapped trio; Matt Fagerson, Adam Hastings and George Horne. All three shining in their first full seasons at the club.

Horne, 22, was named Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season at the club’s Awards Dinner last week and is the currently top try scorer for 2017/18.

The Warriors coaches also named Matt Fagerson their Most Improved Player of the Season, the 19-year old featuring regularly in the Warriors starting XV throughout Dave Rennie’s debut campaign.

21-year old Adam Hastings will follow in the footsteps of his father and uncle by becoming a Scotland International having enjoyed a successful debut season at Scotstoun having joined from Bath last summer.

Front-rowers Jamie Bhatti, Fraser Brown, Zander Fagerson and George Turner have all been named, with Tim Swinson completing the Warriors contingent in the travelling forward pack.

Ali Price makes it two Warriors scrum-halfs on the plane while Alex Dunbar, Nick Grigg and Peter Horne will compete for places in midfield.

Lee Jones, Stuart Hogg and Ruaridh Jackson are also in the travelling party.


Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – 8 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
Lewis Carmichael (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby) – 10 caps
David Denton (Worcester Warriors) – 39 caps
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 22 caps
Richie Gray (Toulouse) – 65 caps
Luke Hamilton (Leicester Tigers) – 1 cap
Murray McCallum (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap
Stuart McInally CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Rugby) – 17 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 36 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) – 2 caps
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps

BACKS (15)

Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps
Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps
Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 60 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – uncapped
Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) – 33 caps
Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors) – 32 caps
Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors) – 8 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
James Lang (Harlequins) – uncapped
Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) – 3 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 16 caps
Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 21 caps

Updated 10:47 - 8 May 2018 by Hugh Barrow

Where next?

This time Ricky Munday Assault on Everest update
Three Hawks in Scotland Squad Squad announced for Worlds

Sat 26 Jan
League 15:00

News sponsors

Club sponsors