Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Glasgow Hawks RFC app


Rowe and Thompson start v France

By Hugh Barrow

Scotland 20s team for Broadwood

“Kyle starts v France” Pic courtesy of Craig Watson

Head coach Stevie Scott has named the Scotland U20 team to face France at Broadwood Stadium in the U20 Six Nations this Friday (9 February, kick off 7.35pm).

The squad selection includes three changes to the side who travelled to Wales in the opening fixture of the U20 Six Nations last weekend, and features 12 players who are products of the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy.

Paddy Dewhirst continues at fullback following his impressive outing in Colwyn Bay last weekend. The Ayr playmaker is joined in the back-three by wingers Kyle Rowe and Logan Trotter, with the latter making his first start of the Six Nations campaign.

In the centre, vice-captain Stafford McDowall is partnered by Edinburgh Rugby’s Callum McLelland, who moves to the midfield after featuring at stand-off last weekend. Charlie Chapman and Ross Thompson form a renewed half-back partnership.

Scott has named an unchanged pack as Edinburgh Accies prop pairing Finlay Richardson and Shaun Gunn once again link up with captain Robbie Smith in the front-row.

Ewan Johnson and Watsonians Jamie Hodgson form a dynamic second-row pairing, whilst Archie Erskine, Guy Graham and Northampton’s Devante Onojaife complete the back-row.

Scotland U20 Head Coach, Stevie Scott said: “The squad have worked hard this week and they’re looking forward to testing themselves against a strong French outfit at Broadwood on Friday night.

“We made mistakes against Wales and there are things we need to work on ahead of this weekend. If we get these things fixed then we can go into the weekend with a bit of confidence again.”

Tickets for the match against France U20 are still available with U18’s only £1*, adults £10.20 and concessions (students/seniors) £5.10. Secure your tickets here. Link:

All prices are inclusive of VAT and any transaction fees.
*£1 U18 ticket offer ends midnight Thursday 8 February, U18 ticket will increase to £5.10 on match day.

Scotland U20 team to face France U20 at Broadwood Stadium in the U20 Six Nations this Friday 9 February (kick-off 7.35pm)

15. Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*

14. Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

13. Stafford McDowall (Ayr)** VICE CAPTAIN

12. Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby)

11. Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)

10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

9. Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)

1. Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies)*

2. Robbie Smith (Ayr)** CAPTAIN

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

5. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonains)*

6. Archie Erskine (Boroughmuir)**

7. Guy Graham (Hawick)

8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)

Replacements: 16. Bradley Clements (Ealing); 17. Nathan McBeth (Lions); 18. Murphy Walker (Dundee HSFP)*; 19. Harry Butler (Hartpury); 20. Rory Darge (Melrose)* 21. Kaleem Barreto (Marr)**; 22. Rory McMichael (Glasgow Hawks); 23. Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks)**

Updated 15:09 - 10 Feb 2018 by Hugh Barrow

Where next?

Hawks well represented Warriors team news
GHK take derby clash GHK correspondent

Sat 2 Mar
League 15:00

News sponsors

Club sponsors